Ondo LG Elections: APC Wins All 18 Chairmanship Seats

The chairmanship candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have been declared winner in the 18 local governments in Ondo State.

Announcing the results of Saturday’s polls, the Chairman of the Ondo Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC), Prof. Yomi Dinakin, said there was no contestation in five local governments.

Dinakin, therefore, declared the APC candidates winners of the election in the five local governments.

According to him, he acted within the law, which states that where there are no contestations, any candidate validly nominated should be declared winner.

Dinakin listed the five councils to include Akoko North East where Mr. Omojola Asimiyu emerged, Ose Local Government (Dennis Adekunle), Ifedore Local Government (Alex Akinyemi Oladimeji), Odigbo Local Government (Akinsurojo Margret) and Irele Local Government (Segun Ajimatokin).


Other local governments where the APC won were Ese-Odo where Folawole Sibasi polled 29,360. In Akoko South East, the APC candidate, Paul Adorujoye, scored 14, 174 votes.

Gbenga Olaniyi won 24,238 votes in Akure South, Olamigoke Olatuwase got 40,009 votes in Ilaje, while Akisuroje Temitayo got 13,250 votes in Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo.

In Okitipupa, the APC candidate, Akinrinwa Igbekele, got 34,721 votes, Akinsulire Ebenezer got 54,292 to win in Ondo West, Chief Adegbegi Samuel polled 48,742 to win in Owo, while Bankole Ogbesetoye got 10,541 votes to win in Akure North.

The APC candidates also won in Idanre, Akoko North West, Akoko South West and Ondo East local governments.

Dinakin also announced that the party won 194 councilorship seats out of 198. the results in the remaining four wards were declared inconclusive.

The State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, is expected to swear them in today, Monday.

Help Aledeh News deliver the independent journalism Nigeria and the world need. Support us by making a contribution. Your donation allows Aledeh News to be completely independent. But it also means this online platform is only possible because of the support of readers like you. Support Now!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close Bitnami banner