#EdoDecides2020: Obaseki, Oshiomhole Arrive Polling Units As Voting Commences

Voters have started to exercise their franchise as the governorship election in Edo State gets underway.

Officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in majority of the polling units in the state have begun accreditation of voters.

While COVID-19 protocols such as physical distancing and wearing of masks were disregarded in some polling units, some other polling units strictly adhered to the protocols.

A woman casting her vote (Photo: TVC News)

Accreditation, voting commenced around 9.30am at Emokpae primary school, Ward 4 Oredo LG, with large voter turnout and high presence of security men.

Candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Governor Godwin Obaseki, is expected to cast his vote at the ward, and he’s arrived.

Also, former governor of the state, Adams Oshiomhole, has arrived PU 001, Uzarue North East ward 10, Etsako West LGA, to cast his vote. He was spotted on the queue.

Former governor of Edo state, Adams Oshiomhole, on the queue to vote (Photo:TheCable)

While voters disregard social distancing at PU 003, ward 03 in Uromi, Esan North-East LGA, voters in ward 4 Ekpoma, in Esan west council area are strictly observing physical distancing.

Voting commences in PU3, ward 5, Esan central (Photo:TheCable)

There are 14 candidates battling it out for the seat of the governor of the state. They include the incumbent governor, Obaseki (PDP); Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu (All Progressives Congress (APC); Edemakhiota Godwin Osaimiamia (Action Alliance); Mabel Oboh (African Democratic Congress); Iboi Emmanuel (Action Democratic Party); Osagie Idehen (All Progressives Grand Alliance); Amos Osalumese Areloegbe (Action Peoples Party); and Igbineweka Osamuede (Allied Peoples Movement).

Others are Osifo Uhun-Ekpenma Isaiah (Labour Party); and Agol Tracy (New Nigeria Peoples Party); Stevie Nash Ozono (National Rescue Movement); Felix Izekor Obayangbon (Social Democratic Party); Osagiobare Jones (Young Progressives Party); and Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena (Zenith Labour Party).

Help Aledeh News deliver the independent journalism Nigeria and the world need. Support us by making a contribution. Your donation allows Aledeh News to be completely independent. But it also means this online platform is only possible because of the support of readers like you. Support Now!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close Bitnami banner