Latest News

LASU Begins Selection Process For Vice-Chancellor

Lagos State University (LASU) has elected members of Senate/Governing Council of Vice-Chancellor Selection Committee to screen and select the next Vice-Chancellor for the institution.

The elected members of the committee are; Professors Barakat Animashaun, Olatunde Owolabi and Babatunde Yusuf.

Meanwhile, Eighteen professors are now in the race to become the next Vice-Chancellor of the institution.

11 of these professors were gathered to be from the institution (University of Ibadan, UI), while three are from the University of Ilorin, one each from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife; Federal University of Technology, Akure; University of Port Harcourt; and Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso.

The 11 applicants from the University of Ibadan are Kayode Adebowale of the Department of Chemistry, Abideen Aderinto of Sociology Department, Olusegun Ademowo of the Institute of Medical Research and Training (IMRAT); Ebenezer Farombi of Biochemistry; Temitope Alonge of the Department of Orthopaedics and Trauma.

Others are Oluwabunmi Olapade-Olaopa of the Department of Surgery; Kolapo Hamzat of Physiotherapy; Oladele Layiwola of the Institute of African Studies; Clement Kolawole of the Department of Arts and Social Science Education; Babatunde Salako of the Department of Medicine; Aderemi Raji-Oyelade of English Department.

Applicants from other universities include Femi Mimiko of the Department of International Relations, Obafemi Awolowo University; the trio of Lateef Adeleke, Adebayo Lawal and Hassan Saliu are from the University of Ilorin.

Other non-UI applicants are Hakeem Fawehinmi of the University of Port Harcourt; Rasaq Kalilu of the Department of Fine & Applied Arts, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso; and Kayode Onifade of the Department of Microbiology, Federal University of Technology, Akure.

It was gathered that the interview of the 18 VC aspirants initially scheduled to hold this week has been adjourned till further notice.

However, 16 out of the 18 contestants have presented their agenda to the university community, via Zoom (virtual platform), in a bid to convince them to select them as the next VC of the institution.

The University’s outgoing VC, Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun, SAN, will be completing his term next January.

Help Aledeh News deliver the independent journalism Nigeria and the world need. Support us by making a contribution. Your donation allows Aledeh News to be completely independent. But it also means this online platform is only possible because of the support of readers like you. Support Now!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close Bitnami banner