Buhari Asks Senate To Confirm Nigeria’s New Service Chiefs

The Nigerian Presidency says President Muhammadu Buhari has written the Nigerian Senate and sought the confirmation of the nation’s new service chiefs.

Recall that the President replaced the erstwhile service chiefs on Wednesday after he accepted their resignation and retirement from service.

The newly appointed service chiefs are Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General Lucky Irabor; Chief of Army Staff, Major-General I. Attahiru; Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, and the Chief of Air Staff, Air-Vice Marshal Isiaka Amao.

But their appointments generated controversies in some quarters as some legal practitioners faulted the move to appoint the military chiefs “without seeking” the confirmation of the National Assembly.

In a series of tweets on Friday, the Presidency said Buhari has sent a letter dated January 27, 2021, to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan. It said the letter seeks the confirmation of the appointees.

The Presidency said the move was made in furtherance of Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act Cap. A.20 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria.

“President @MBuhari has communicated the appointment of the Service Chiefs to the National Assembly and has sought for the confirmation of the said appointment by the Senate through his letter to the Senate President dated 27th January 2021,” it tweeted.

“This was done in furtherance of Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act Cap. A.20 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria.

“Contrary to fears expressed in some quarters that President @MBuhari has ‘bypassed’ the National Assembly in the process of appointment of the Service Chiefs and that he has no intention of seeking consideration and confirmation of their appointment, Mr. President upon nomination for appointment sought confirmation of the Senate for the appointment of Major General Lucky Irabor, Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka Amao as Chief of Defence Staff, Chief of Army Staff, Chief of Naval Staff and Chief of Air Staff respectively, vide his aforementioned letter.”

The Presidency said the same procedure was adopted in 2015 when the immediate past service chiefs were appointed.

“It is on record that this same procedure was adopted when the immediate past Service Chiefs were appointed. Upon announcement of the appointment of the then Service Chiefs, Mr. President had written the 8th Senate on 14th July 2015 for confirmation,” it said.

“Whilst the correspondence was read on the floor of the Senate on 28th July 2015, consideration and confirmation of the appointments was carried out at the Committee of the Whole on 4th August 2015.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this:
Close Bitnami banner