Alleged Misconduct: Kano Assembly Suspends Five Members

Kano State House of Assembly has suspended five of its members for six months.

The Speaker, Abdulazeez Gafasa, made the announcement on Monday during the assembly’s sitting.

According to Gafasa, the lawmakers were suspended for misconduct and violation of the house’s rules and regulation.

“The five members were suspended for violating the rules of the house especially Order IV Sub 4 a, b, d and also disrupting the sittings of the house and preventing proceedings from going on,” the speaker said.

Kano State House of Assembly

“They behaved violently and even attempted to snatch away the assembly’s mace in a clear attempt to sabotage the house sitting.”

The affected members are; Labaran Abdul Madari (APC) representing Warawa Constituency, Garba Yau Gwarmai (APC) representing Kunchi/Tsanyawa, Isyaku Ali Danja (PDP) representing Gezawa constituency, Mohammed Bello (APC) representing Rimingado/Tofa constituency and Salisu Ahmed Gwamgwazo (PDP) representing Kano Municipal.

Last Monday, there had been a rowdy session at the assembly when the committee that investigated the then Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi II, attempted to submit its report to the house.



For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please Call or Send a Text to 08092220500, 08098600038 or send an email to:

Related Articles