Sport News

Iheanacho And Ndidi Make History In Leicester FA Cup Final Win

Iheanacho And Ndidi Make History In Leicester FA Cup Final Win

Aledeh News reports that Kelechi Iheanacho and Wilfred Ndidi have made history as Leicester City win their first FA Cup final in 52 years.

Youri Tielemans’s sensational strike at the 63rd minute earned Leicester a FA Cup championship for the first time in the club’s 137-year history on Saturday.

Brendan Rodgers’ side beat Chelsea 1-0 at Wembley in front of 22,000 fans, the largest crowd for a sports event in England since the coronavirus pandemic hit 14 months ago.

Iheanacho missed out on the Premier League Player of the Month Award for April but will easily settle for an FA Cup winners medal.

He has however been compensated with Leicester’s victory, as he and his teammate, Ndidi made the records of becoming the joint eighth Super Eagles players to win the FA cup.

Seven other Nigerian players who had won the FA Cup are Daniel Amokachi, Nwankwo Kanu, Celestine Babayaro, John Utaka, John Mikel Obi, Victor Moses, and Alex Iwobi.

Nevertheless, no Nigerian has matched Kanu’s record of being the Nigerian player to have scored and to be named man of the match in a FA Cup final.

Kanu scored the only goal in Portsmouth’s 2008 FA Cup Final win over Cardiff.

Nigerians including the former Arsenal star have therefore taken to social media to celebrate the duo.

Meanwhile, the Foxes are on the verge of sealing a place in next season’s Champions League as they are currently sitting on the third position on the Premier League table.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: