Kogi Election: INEC Deploys 3 National Commissioners, 7 RECs

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Mahmood Yakubu Chairman has okayed the deployment of three of its national commissioners and seven Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC) to Kogi.

The Head, Voter Education, and Publicity Department, in the Lokoja office of the INEC, Ahmed Biambo who disclosed this on Monday, noted that they were deployed to strengthen staff on ground, in order to conduct a free, fair and credible election.

He listed the three national commissioners to include Alhaji Mohammed Haruna, Chief Solomon Soyebi and retired AVM Ahmed Mu’azu.

Kogi Election: INEC Deploys 3 National Commissioners, 7 REC

He also mentioned the RECs: Malam Ibrahim Abdullahi, Prof. Riskuwa Sheu and Mr. Emeka Ononamadu from Bauchi State, Kano State and Enugu State respectively.

According to him, the three resident electoral commissioners had arrived in Lokoja earlier to join the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. James Apam, in preparation for the state governorship election on Nov. 16.

He said that the remaining four Resident Electoral Commissioners will arrive in the state on Nov. 9 to join their colleagues. They are Dr. Goshe Yilwatda, REC; Benue State, Mr. Sam Olumeku, REC; Lagos State, Mr. Obo Effanga, REC; Rivers State and Malam Umaru Ibrahim, REC; Gombe State.

He also assured the people that their vote would count during the election but urged them to be peaceful and avoid negative actions before, during and after the election.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please Call or Send a Text to [highlight color="yellow"]08092220500[/highlight], [highlight color="yellow"]08098600038[/highlight] or send an email to: [email protected]

Related Articles