Senate: Lawan Announces Names Of New Principal Officers

Senate President, Ahmed Lawan has announced the names of Principal officers of the upper chamber of the National Assembly.

Lawan made the announcement in Tuesday, after receiving letters from the Chairmen of the two most represented political parties in the Senate, indicating their choices for the different positions, according to Daily Trust.

Senator Abubakar Yahaya from Kebbi State has been announced as the Senate Majority Leader while Ajayi Borofice from Ondo State is the Deputy Majority Leader.

Crest of the Nigerian Senate

Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe from Abia State is the Senate Minority Leader and will be deputised by Emmanuel Bwacha from Taraba State.

Orji Uzor Kalu from Abia State has been announced as the Majority Chief Whip while Senator Sabi Abdullahi from Niger State is the Minority Chief Whip.

Senator Philip Tanimu Aduda (FCT) is the minority whip, with Senator Sahabi Ya’u as the Deputy minority whip.

The parties claimed that the selected persons were drawn out of a unanimous nomination by the members of the party.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please Call or Send a Text to 08092220500, 08098600038 or send an email to:

Related Articles